About Council

Welcome to our 2017-18 school year!

To receive weekly updates and news about the school and upcoming events, please sign in for the Council’s Weekly Newsletter 

Davisville School Council

The Davisville School Council serves the community of Davisville Junior Public School. School Council is an advisory body that operates under the auspices of the Toronto District School Board, as mandated by the Ontario Ministry of Education.

The majority of School Council members must always be parents of children attending the school. Council can also can have teaching staff, non-teaching staff, and community representatives. The school Principal is a non-voting member of Council.

The first school council meeting of the 2017-18 year will take place on September 27, 2017.

2016-17 School Council Executives / Voting Members:

  • Council Chair: Tamara Kolber
  • Co- or Vice Chair: TBD
  • Past Chair: Tanya Murdoch
  • Co-Secretaries: Farah Namazi, Naomi Buck
  • Co-Treasurers: Val Upfold, Wendy Bhim
  • Communications Co-chairs / Committee: Anita Huang Teshima, Anya Laskin, Morgan Hedges, Lara Friedlander, John Hiddema
  • Eco Co-chairs: Tanya Murdoch, TBD
  • Fun Fair Co-chairs: TBD
  • Fundraising Co-chairs: Lynne LeBlanc, Laura Quinn (Auction Chair)
  • Fresh School Team: Chris Trussell, Lesley Stoyan, Renata Kozakova
  • Kindergarten Reps: Wynsome Walker (FI), Heidi Kerney (E), Ulrike Jobe (E)
  • Primary Reps: Lynne LeBlanc (FI), Lindsay Wotherspoon (E)
  • Junior Reps: Tanya Murdoch (FI), Anjali Tiwari (E)
  • Athletics Chairs: Jennifer Brunner
  • Library Chair/Committee: Heidi Kerney, Anya Laskin
  • Music Chair/Committee: Anne Sasu, Chris Trussell
  • Volunteer Coordinator: Aleksandra Stanimirovic
  • NSRT (New School Rebuild Team) Co-Chairs: Dawn Canning, Chris Thompson
  • Transition (re: Hodgson) Committee: Anne Sasu (FI), Anjali Tiwari (E), Kimberly Irwin (E)

2016-17 Non-Elected Positions:

Along with the elected chairs and council positions, there are parents who have offered to coordinate various council programs, or have started their own initiatives. Some initiatives have become part of the Davisville tradition but need someone to manage them. They all need a team of volunteers to help run these programs. Please contact them if you are able to help out or contact council for more information: davisvilleschoolcouncil@gmail.com

  • Class Connector Coordinator: Anya Laskin
  • Snack Coordinator: Chris Trussell
  • Pizza lunch Coordinator: Lynne LeBlanc
  • Movie Night Coordinators: Savannah Lockie, Pam Byrne
  • Bake Sale Coordinator (3-4 times a year): TBD
  • Acorn Fundraiser Coordinator (October/November): Becky Caven
  • Parent Partnership Coordinator: Wendy Chong Edgell
  • PRO Grant Coordinator:  Lesley Stoyan
  • Freecycle Coordinator (October-March): Tanya Murdoch
  • Rummage Sale Coordinator (April): TBD
  • Staff Appreciation Lunch (November and June): Pam Byrne, Farah Namazi
  • Spiritwear Coordinator (January/February): Sharman Fletcher, Tamara Kolber

Council Executive Positions / Committee Chairs Descriptions:

  • Council Chair(s): Set the agenda for council meetings, support the other chairs in their endeavors, liaise with administration and respond to questions/concerns from the parent community. (Large time commitment, 1-2 years of experience on council, good to share this position with a Co-chair or Vice Chair.)
  • Secretary: Take minutes of each meeting and distribute a copy to school community. (No experience needed, minimal time commitment, and must come to all meetings; can share position.)
  • Treasurer: Keep account of money raised and spent, sign cheques, deposit money raised by council, sit on budget committee. (Sporadic time commitment, must check in frequently and meet with budget committee 4-5x a year as well as report to council every meeting; should shadow treasurer for a few months to understand role.)
  • Communications Chair(s): Regularly update parent-run website — davisvilleparents.com — and share school news with Davisville PS community through social media sites and distribution lists; post blogs/news, upcoming events/activities, forms, council minutes, etc., following the guidelines developed by the communications committee. (Recommendation is to run Communications as a committee.)
  • NSRT (New School Rebuild Team) Chair(s): Work with committee and administration to plan the new Davisville school building development project, and report regularly on NSRT updates to School Council. Meet with community partners, as needed. Coordinate with the Midtown Hub Committee, and also report on relevant Midtown Hub initiatives to School Council. (Must commit to 8-10 meetings outside of council time.)
  • Eco Chair(s): work with teachers from the Eco Club to support eco-initiatives and aid in communication about what is happening with the Eco Club
  • Educational Liaison English Program: Advise staffing committee (administration and teachers) in the Spring when they plan distribution of classes for the English stream. (2-3 meetings after school in late March, early April.)
  • Educational Liaison French Program: Same as above for the French stream
  • Volunteer Coordinator: Contact person for volunteers (emailing, setting up babysitter for council meetings, obtaining volunteers for different events and coordinating Fun Fair volunteers in the spring). (Year round, mostly by email, 1-2 hours per month, more for big events. You might need to attend big events to coordinate volunteers.)
  • Fundraising Chair(s): In charge of silent auction at the Fun Fair and any new fund-raising initiatives. Report back on fundraising initiatives to council. Chair a meeting early in the year to set agenda for the year. (2-3 hours in Fall, busy in spring from April-June Fun fair, coordinate and run silent auction. NEED A TEAM.)
  • Fun Fair Chair(s): Set the agenda for, plan and coordinate the annual parent run even in the Spring. (This is a position that needs team support and people in charge of the various Fun Fair areas and acitvities.)
  • Past Chair (Retiring Council Chair): Advises and shares institutional experience with current council
  • Kindergarten, Primary and Junior Reps: Bring issues or share knowledge about different area of the school community. Act as a liaison between council and the wider school community for their respective grades
  • Athletics Chair, Library Chair, Music Chair: These Coordinators liaise with the staff department heads — Francesca Piccione/Amy Thomas (Athletics), Maria Mantello (Library), and Sanela Khonjhodzhic (Music) — to determine what needs they have (e.g., funds or volunteers), and then bring these needs to School Council (by proxy, if you can’t be present at meetings)